Unless you become like a little child

“Truly, I say to you, unless you turn and become like children, you will never enter the kingdom of heaven.” Matthew 18:3

I think sometimes the older we get, the more we forget how to find joy in the little things. I’ve been working on being grateful in all things- failing miserably at times- but realizing that the more I consciously give thanks for the blessings in my life, the more I see them all around me.

I’ve been perusing vacation photos from earlier this summer this week and came across this gem. This is my little cousin Justin who was playing basketball on a full sized hoop. This was after he made a rocking shot – one that came nowhere near reaching the basket. He was so incredibly pleased with himself!! Look at that little guy, rocking his own little world and reveling in the joy of the moment. Image

This photo, this great little kid, the joy and excitement oozing out of his little self, this beautiful childlike trait reminds me again to look for the joy in the small things. The small successes. The load of laundry I did get folded. The dishes that did get washed. The project I did get out the door at work. The dog that comes when she’s called. The rabbit that goes dashing out in front of the dog every morning. The gorgeous hardwood floor (even if there is dog hair on it). Sure, there’s always more to do, but let’s stop a minute and revel in the joy of the moment, the accomplishment, the moment.

“Rejoice in the Lord always; again I will say, Rejoice.” Phil. 4:4

Today I am thankful:

  • That it is Thursday, which means I survived my rearranged middle of the week commitments. And I’m at home this evening.
  • A job I love- even when it is completely chaotic (like now, at the end of construction season)
  • This house. Gosh I love this house.
  • Wonderful neighbors
  • A visit with my mom at the end of the day
  • My pups
  • A clean kitchen floor
  • Vacation – that week up north with my family feeds my soul. Going over some of the pics makes me realize how incredibly blessed I am.
  • Glorious September weather
  • Garden dreams

Life is good, I am thankful.

Leave a Reply

