Count your blessings

I am blessed.

The other day I had one of those moments where something happened and I completely overreacted (mostly in my head). Do you ever have those moments? It felt like piling on. As if I don’t have enough going on, and now THIS? And it isn’t the first time something like this happened which manages to make me feel invisible and undervalued and abandoned. Stupid, yes. But those are the feelings that come flooding in. Suddenly I’m frustrated, angry, and feeling entirely derailed. Somewhere in the middle of this response, I was able to see that I was overreacting. This isn’t something that is going to ruin my life. It doesn’t mean my parents have never loved me or that I’ll never be able to get the house on the market.  Back to reality, Reenie, back to reality. It is inconvenient and it does throw off my plans, but there are so many things to be thankful for in spite of it.
Today I am thankful:
For God’s abundance in all things
For being Catholic
For gorgeous spring weather at last
For tulips and hyacinths and forsythia and daffodils all blooming in my yard
For a couple crazy dogs who love me (and one of them who REALLY loves me) 
For the friends that generously brought over dinner and boxes and their cute toddler for a visit
For my brother and sister-in-law who came over and cleaned the bathroom and helped me trim the kitchen
For a job I love (and that my boss is usually in town and taking his own phone calls) 
For a house that is almost ready to list
For a place to go while it’s listed (so as to get the dogs out)
For a housing market that is on the mend at long last
Bottom line: I am blessed and thankful.

Leave a Reply

