Baby steps

On the work front, for those of you who are afraid to ask, last week was good. Peaceful, even. The first week in quite awhile without some sort of crisis to contend with. And though I didn’t make it out in the 32 hours I had hoped for (we had Monday off for Memorial day), I made it out at 38 hours, so it could have been much worse.

And while I don’t feel caught up or particularly successful these days, it feels a lot more manageable. Leaving by 5.30 pm every day makes me feel a bit more human, like work is part of my life and not my life.

There are other signs of progress, some based on my hard work and ability to see gaps and communicate what needs to happen. It isn’t something I will get credit for, but it sure feels good to see some signs of improvement and to know it is a direct result of me being there and my hard work.

There’s still a long way to go on so many levels… but this week there was progress and for that I am thankful.

Leave a Reply

