Help?

A few days ago I was pondering hanging on to hope. The choice to be happy, to be thankful. The choices we do have. And it’s been on my mind that I should add something to that discussion. There are times in life when we cannot make the choice without help. Sometimes it means help from friends and family. Sometimes it means help from professionals. I have close friends who have gone through difficult times and needed some extra help to get balanced, to choose to be happy, to face another day. Heck, I probably should have should have been on them in high school to help me balance out through some of my own really dark years.

Here’s my take on that: Do not fear! I don’t think anti-depressants are always the answer. But I know that sometimes they are the answer or at least a critical part of the answer. It saddens me that sometimes they are seen as the bad guy, or that somehow needing them is something to be ashamed of. Instead I see it as a courageous option. Taking that step to ask for help because you can’t do it on your own. Calling in the big guns: the counselor, the zoloft, the prozac, etc.

Thanks to the friends in my life who have shared the struggle, who really are the silent heroes, taking that important step for their own sanity and for the ones they love. Sometimes it is just for a season, other times it is longer. But I have seen it make a huge difference and really change their quality of life. There you have it.

Hang on to hope. But if you can’t, or if you’re barely hanging on, don’t be afraid to call in the big guns.

One thought on “Help?

Leave a Reply

