Hanging on to hope

I’ve been thinking a lot about priorities and life choices and free will and all the minute by minute decisions we make throughout our lives that lead us down one path or another.

There have been many seasons in my life I have had people around me that seem to be wallowing in misery. I know what that’s like, I’ve been there, done that. Could easily be there again right now, in fact, if I let myself. And yet I always come back to the idea that life is too short to waste it being miserable. Not to say that we aren’t all going to suffer, in big and small ways. But life is entirely too short to not choose to be happy. It’s too short not to look for the things that we can be grateful for, the abundance of blessings poured out.

I certainly know what it is like to pray and pray and pray for something and not see it happen. I know what it’s like to feel like your dreams are being pulled out of your grasp. And yet, again and again I come back to needing to hang on to hope. Hope of heaven. Hope that we’re here for something bigger than ourselves and our own limited dreams, our own limited understanding. Hope that we have a Father who has us right where we need to be for our sanctification and happiness. Sometimes that hanging on is sort of easy, a loose grip on something, and other days I feel like I am hanging on white-knuckled for dear life, hoping for relief before I can’t hang on any more.

I think about John 6:67-68: “So Jesus said to the twelve, “You do not want to go away also, do you?” Simon Peter answered Him, “Lord, to whom shall we go? You have words of eternal life.”

Lord, may we cling to the words of eternal life. May we cling to you in the midst of the storm. May we always hang on to hope in Your great love and accept the joy and peace that passes all the circumstances.

One thought on “Hanging on to hope

  1. Yes! Wonderfully put 🙂 Life is definitely too short to choose misery over hope and joy and loving all that we've been given. Great post… great perspective. You're amazing 🙂

Leave a Reply

