The Three "T"s

Sometimes I feel like the past couple years has been a progression of one step forward, two steps back. Constantly. And I cannot seem to catch up, because let’s face it, the last two years have been full of the big “T”… Transition.

This week’s transition is brought to you by (drum roll please) … A NEW JOB! That’s right folks. Since it’s been almost exactly a year since my last job transition, I thought we should do it again. Well, not really. But my current job, though I am working for an organization very near and dear to my heart, has been rough. Just not a good fit for me. Feels like it is sucking the life out of me. For 11.5 months now. I think I have served the parish well, done some important work, and am happy to be handing it on to the next person. It is Time (another great T word). Time for Transition.

I started job hunting seriously a couple months again, deciding it was time to expand my search beyond my home state. Certainly not hoping to have to leave… but feeling like it was just Time and if that meant moving out of state, so be it. So the last couple months have been me going back to the job search front in the evenings. Writing cover letters. Lots of online applications that seem to go out into the great big void. And then in one week two local opportunities, both referred by friends. Then the inevitable waiting… One call. Could I come in that Tuesday. YES!! I’ll be honest, the friend that referred me said he was working with them and that they needed ME. Not just someone, Me. Well, the job description was vague, so I wasn’t terribly hopeful but thought it was worth a shot. I told Jesus on my way in that it was all His. Make the way clear.

And then I interviewed… and it has never been so clear to me that they needed ME. Not just some generic office manager, but me!! Woah. Afraid to be too hopeful, and knowing they were interviewing 8 of us that day, I just prayed and held my breath and honestly, got pretty excited. And the next day I got the call asking me back for round 2 (with only 1 or 2 others). Eeeeek. I interviewed again Thursday afternoon, and again, connected soooo well, loved the guys I interviewed with, and felt like this was the job made for me.

I told Jesus on my way out of that interview, “Lord, if they offer me this job, I am taking it. So if you have another plan, this is your moment.” Another long day of waiting, and then I got the message. They would love to have me join the team!! Woo hoo!! And here it comes, the third “T”… THANKFUL.

I am a little overwhelmed looking at the amount of transition looming in front of me… trying to wrap up and hand off my current job, starting the new job, not to mention the holidays, already being behind on life, etc. But I am overwhelmed with a sense of profound gratitude at God’s provision for me. I have felt really stuck and kind of abandoned where I’m at, and sometimes I have prayed for specific things and the answer has been “No.” Which can be really hard to hear and accept. But I am reminded that all of it is part of God’s plan for me. Plans for good and not for evil, plans to give me hope and a future. I am thankful for the time I had here, for the struggles that made me grow in ways I certainly wasn’t planning for, and for the opportunity to work with a lot of amazing people.

And I am THANKFUL to be moving forward. To be starting a job that seems like a great fit. To continue to grow and learn and serve. I am grateful for a Father that loves me and provides so perfectly for me. And did I mention how thankful I am to be remaining in southeast Michigan? That I don’t have to sell my house and move across the country? That I get to stay in my home, drive 20 minutes to work, stay part of a parish I love, stay near many family and friends… Woo hoo!! God is so good!

PS. If I drop off the planet for the next 6 weeks, at least now you know why. But don’t worry, once I’m through the exhausting transition period, I’ll be back and ready to re-enter society, hopefully more functional than before even 😀

3 thoughts on “The Three "T"s

  1. Maureen, I am so happy for you! I do want to thank you, though, for sticking out your other job for a year. I know it wasn't the job for you, but you did a fantastic job. We are going to miss you!

  2. While we in the “T” mode, I just want to say I think it is all just Terrific, Reen. All of it–the hard part, the new part, and the staying around part.

    Love, Aunt Marie

Leave a Reply

