Garlic Hummus

I have a recent addiction… here goes… I LOVE garlic lovers hummus. Love love love it. As in, I am tempted to eat a tub of it per day (though I do try to restrain myself). Anyway, this is a rather expensive hobby as the family size container, a mere 17 oz. is nearly $6 (which is approx. $0.35/oz). Yikes. So today I decided to try making the stuff and see how it is. Naturally I found a recipe on the web, but I changed it significantly enough as I went along that I can’t even really cite that recipe. Also, though that recipe was titled garlic hummus, I had to add significantly more garlic to mine. I prefer garlic with a touch of chick pea and not the other way around. So here’s my new recipe…

Reenie’s Garlic Hummus
3 c. (1 large can) chick peas

4 T. Tahini (sesame paste- found in the oriental food aisle)

2 T. Olive oil

8-10 t. minced garlic (the recipe called for cloves of garlic “crushed” but since I always have minced garlic on hand, I went with that. And doubled the amount).

juice of 2 lemons (I hand juiced 2 lemons, and then probably added another teaspoon of lemon juice to give it a little more zest)

1 1/2 t. salt

1 t. course ground pepper

1/2 t. oregano

Put everything into the food processor and make a paste. Yuuummmm. Makes approx. 4 cups of delicious garlic hummus, emphasis on the garlic… (and yes, I may add more garlic next time).

Pricing– most of this is a guess, but probably a reasonable comparison.

chick peas $2
tahini ($10 for the jar) $2.50
minced garlic $.25
olive oil $.20
oregano, salt, pepper $0.05
lemons $1
Grand total: $6.00 for 32 oz. = $0.19 / oz.
What are you waiting for? Go make some. You won’t regret it! (Except you, my dear mother, you won’t like this at all- it tastes distinctly like garlic šŸ™‚ Mmmmmmm.

8 thoughts on “Garlic Hummus

  1. 'garlic with a touch of chickpea'…ha! Me too…have you ever tried growing it in the garden? I'm thinking I might try this year, if it's not already too late…might be one of those things you have to stick in in the fall?

  2. Too funny! We've been on a homemade hummus kick at our house too! Your recipe sounds pretty similar to what we do….though not quite as much garlic. šŸ™‚ Marie's not a big fan, but Joey can't get enough of it! I will have to try the oregano next time though…have you tried adding chili powder? We like that too.

  3. Ooooo. I just bookmarked this in my recipes file. Thomas has recently discovered hummous and so I would love to make some from our cache of chick peas, ala WIC. John doesn't like it though. Maybe the extra garlic will change his mind…what one wife can't pull off another one can?

  4. I too love making garlicky hummus…and yes, WIC beans are great! Roasting a head of garlic is a yummy addition. Also, if you're feeling OCD, the chickpeas are easy to peel, simply by lightly squeezing the pea with both index fingers and thumbs. The pea shoots out of the peel. This makes for a supremely smooth hummus! šŸ™‚

  5. Thanks Fester- I am a little OCD and wondered how to make it smoother- peel the chickpeas. Awesome.

    And Peggy, chili powder sounds good too. So many great ideas šŸ™‚

  6. Welcome to my addiction, Reen! Long time addict, but the price kept my habit under control as well. Jeff and Anya are also hooked as well. I bought Tahini some time ago, but just never made that leap. I'm feeling inspired (especially knowing that a blender might make it smoother). I can't see myself peeling chickpeas…
    Good post. Good paste!
    Love, Aunt Marie

Leave a Reply

