Seriously annoyed

So a momentary rant about my current job…
I am the office administrator, I’m at work all week, answering calls and emails and certainly doing my best to serve the parish and the many parishioners. However, I am ready to scream at the number of calls I get on my home phone regarding work. Just because my phone number is findable does NOT mean I am happy to get work calls at home!! I am not available 24/7. I do not want to get calls from people who have just one more question they deem so important it is worth interrupting my weekend for… or do they even consider that at all? Are people that insensitive? Okay, the answer is yes, people are that insensitive. To give them a little consideration, people probably just don’t think- it doesn’t occur to them how insensitive and invasive it feels to have people randomly calling on the weekends… people probably assume that since I do go to Mass where I work that it will be just convenient to stop me in the lobby and ask me to email that form, or call that person, or blah blah blah. They don’t think for one second that maybe I was just going to Mass, that I’d like 5 minutes peace, that I am not going to remember the 8th random thing someone asks me for on my way through the crowd of people to the door…

Nope, I’m pretty sure people don’t realize. But I really wish I could help them get a clue… here it is, plain and simple: If you have a work question, call me at WORK! If I am home, I am not at work and do not want your work questions!!! Grrr.

One of my favorite quotes that seems very applicable: “Lack of planning on your part does not constitute an emergency on my part.”

Okay, I’m done ranting. Trying to take a deep breath and move on…

3 thoughts on “Seriously annoyed

  1. Sigh. I'm so sorry, that's too bad. People are indeed that insensitive. It isn't even just some random, off-the-cuff thing, either: they had to look up your home number when you weren't available at work. For a sane person, that's when you know you're crossing the line.

    If someone stops you at mass to ask you a work question, I'd tell them that your memory is bad or something, and that they'd better email you about it, and you'll get back to them on MONDAY.

    Boundaries.

  2. True. People are rude. I'd say that this is more a sign that you are not a good fit for the job then that people are shockingly rude though. If you think about all the “Church ladies” you know most of them revel in 'living the job'. They want to be in on everything and on-duty all the time b/c it means that they are 'in the know'.
    People looking up your number and calling at home is ridiculous but people talking to you at church…they've been conditioned by generations of 'church ladies' before you. They don't know you are a different breed. Or maybe you're NOT. Maybe you just aren't meant to be a “church lady” at all…hmmmm.

Leave a Reply

