When Nature Conspires Against Me

It is a beautiful Sunday. I went to the vigil Mass for Pentecost on Saturday evening so I have some great plans for sleeping in and then spending the day in my yard, hurray!! But sometimes I feel that nature is conspiring against me…

The sleeping in bit went fine, but after that, things started to deteriorate…starting with a “headache” that drugs aren’t helping… Stubbornly I went out anyway and was working on weeding my border garden area (that I planted last year) and digging out enough area to install some edging… enjoying the peace and quiet outside…

… except that this little bit of “nature” won’t leave me alone (she doesn’t understand about gardening… or anything else outside that doesn’t involve playing ball)…

… I tried putting her ball in the garbage can… which didn’t work because I couldn’t stand the frantic yipping, the attempts to knock over my can full of yard waste, or the running over and licking me to ask me to please get the ball out… ahhhh…

…I tried ignoring her, which didn’t work…

At some point I decide to take a break, pull out my trusty camera and take some pictures (of flowers, if you can believe it)… instead, as I’m crouched trying to capture a shot…

… so I give in and throw the ball so I can snap a few of these…

…maybe I should just stop and smell the flowers with Maggie…

…or take a nap, right in the middle of the herb garden…

… quick, Suzie is barking at a squirrel, try to get an artsy picture in…

“Chives you say? We can play ball near the chives.”

One thought on “When Nature Conspires Against Me

  1. Oh man, that sounds a lot like my day yesterday! …but substitute Iain for dogs and soon-to-be-installed pieces of quarter-round trim for balls. Needless to say, I didn’t get much done, but I did have a blast watching him make things “dissapear” by dropping them behind his back.

Leave a Reply

