Today I was walking out to my car as the same time as my boss, the Cat in the Hat. “So…” he says, conversationally. “What do you do in the evenings?” My mind goes blank. What do I do in the evenings? Well, it depends on the day… the minute… I might do laundry. I might bike with the dogs. I will probably spend some part of it outside in the yard. I kick a ball a lot. I play softball. I hang out with my friends. I attend “Craft nights at Karen’s” which is a bunch of my lady friends watching a movie and doing projects. Sometimes I go to women’s group. Sometimes I do projects around the house. Or replace toilet innards. Or hang pictures. Or bathe the dogs. Or fanatically clean something. Or make lists of things to do and projects I want to do. Sometimes I just go have dinner at a friend’s and watch their toddler bounce off the walls until bedtime. Sometimes I have a friend over and we just catch up. Sometimes I go to Encyclical Guild. Or to softball practice. Or iron linens for church. Sometimes I waste time on the computer listening to moist licking. I don’t know… What do I do in the evenings??

I know my boss is trying to get to know me (he often asks what I do on the weekends)… and I’m not actually trying to avoid the question… but I don’t really know how to explain my life sometimes… (or I’m afraid to admit what my weekends really look like).

The real question is: What do people do in the evenings?

2 thoughts on “

  1. Hah! Your evenings sound perfectly normal to me…but I only tell people a couple things, so they don’t think I’m crazy. Walk the dog, play volleyball, go to art class. So sure, I also do 19000 other things, but I don’t want everyone to think I have Bright Shiny Object Syndrom, or ADD…bad enough that the people we live with think that.

    Sometimes people like us have to think up the answers to these questions in advance, so we can sound normal…. 🙂

  2. good question. Lately I crash and watch TV for 20 minutes and then go to bed. The kids have stinking been staying up until 9:30 or 10. What is that about? I never clean up from dinner (so there are wonderful smells in the morning to deal with) and I never get the laundry folded. The earlier evening is spent trying to ignore all the needs and then giving in and addressing them. Such is the pregnant life. (btw, my word verification word is Judas. Yikes)

Leave a Reply

