The Hunt…

For any of you that don’t know, I’m currently job hunting. Things at the ole family business are very very slow so it is an uncertain time for all of us. Because of this, I decided I need to be job hunting for either a full time job or part time job to tide me over. I will continue to work very reduced hours at my current job just to keep things going and we will see if we get additional work. Needless to say, it’s not the happiest time of my life. There are days I freak out about all of it and days I’m quite peaceful. I think the unpredictability of it probably frustrates me the most!

It definitely feels like starting from scratch in a lot of ways, resumes, cover letters, trying to figure out with kind of job to look for, interviewing, etc. So far, one interview that went well but I didn’t get the job. Still a great experience and good practice. I had an interview yesterday for what I consider more of a part time / interim job with a home care company- so it’s a lot of housekeeping, company, laundry, reminding to take meds, checking in with seniors. Not a long term career for me (the pay is really low) and yet could be a good extra income source for awhile. They basically told me to update my first aid and CPR certifications and TB test and they’ll have me in for orientation soon. After that I’ll be on call for them. Not bad. I also have an interview with a test scoring company to get on their list for projects. It sounds like in the midst of a project it’s a lot of time commitment, but I think it seems like a great opportunity to make some cash, working double time if need be for a few weeks during one of their projects. Again, we shall see, but it is kind of an adventure!

I am applying and have applied to numerous other places where I feel there’s a chance for a more permanent fit. I feel like a woman on a mission. Spending evenings checking job ads, writing cover letters, sending resumes… It’s kind of a lot, but it’s the right thing to do, so forward I go.

Although it is a very uncertain and tough time, I know that God has a plan (at least most days I know that). I am working in faith to do what I believe I need to and trusting God to help me find a way to make the ends meet. This is certainly not what I’d planned on happening this year… nor would I have asked for it… and yet, God has a plan. I know that He is at work in my heart… working on trusting God, which I always need! And this is just another angle of that. All of this also gives me infinitely more compassion for the many others in a similar situation. I certainly know several personally and it seems that every day there are more stories about people losing their jobs, losing their homes, etc. I am praying for all of you in these difficult times and appreciate your prayers for my job situation.

This is not meant to be a complaining post, or a woe-is-me kind of post, just letting you know what’s happening in my life. And if you hear of a job opening, by all means, let me know πŸ™‚

4 thoughts on “The Hunt…

  1. I’m sorry to hear that. Job hunting is one of the the least funnest activities EVER. πŸ˜‰You might try signing up to substitute teach… for a flexible job you could pick up on the days you felt like it. You can choose any grade level or subject…

  2. Thanks Betsy. And winter is shorter there too? And some of my favorite people live right around there… hmmm… now all I gotta do is sell a house in Michigan… right.

  3. What?! Kevin and I had no idea and you hung out with us last week!! We’ll be praying. I did homecare for a couple years and it was very rewarding. Life is an adventure, and I’m sure God will lead you to many blessings, even in the midst of the anxiety.

Leave a Reply

