50 acres and a poodle

I seriously love the book 50 Acres and a Poodle by Jeanne Marie Laskas, it might be one of my favorite fun books. I found it this summer and sped through it on vacation, laughing out loud on numerous occasions, and even shedding a tear or two when… nevermind, i can’t tell you who dies. About a week ago I got it back from a friend who was borrowing it and needed to re-read it. Its a great pick up, especially with the past 2 weeks being soooo gloomy and sunless here in Michigan. Anyway, sunny or not, you should read it, its a fun book… as are the sequels Fifty Acres and a Family, and Growing Daughters… although I think the first one is the best of the three.

One of the reasons I love the book is that Laskas weaves the deeper issues of life into her fun, upbeat story. One of my favorite parts (and I do have a lot of favorite parts) is at the beginning of the book where she is conversing with her cat Bob. She then goes on to explain she isn’t a crazy cat person who talks to her cat and believes he responds, she never says anything out loud. She and Bob are a unit, they belong together, they’ve been through a lot together and are a comfortable unit.

That is exactly how I feel about the bitches (and now I have a nice descriptive word for it – we are a “unit”). I don’t consider them my children, or even my “family”, they are my dogs… and yet, they do play a very important part in my life. Maggie and Suzie are a good reminder, excuse for me to take care of myself. They let me know when they haven’t seen enough of me, which generally means I haven’t seen enough of me and need some down time at home anyway!! They are just my pets, and yet, sometimes they are the visible love of God for me… a listening ear (or four) when I need to vent, a head on my lap when I’m stressing out, a reminder of the value of a nice walk, a shadow never letting me out of her sight when I’m lonely, an exchanged knowing look from Maggie when crazy people are pushing me over the edge (somehow she can always tell)… yeah, they’re definitely an important part of my day to day life… We are a unit. Its a Reenie-and-the-bitches sort of unit ๐Ÿ™‚ In fact, you could almost lump my home into that same unit. Not that I couldn’t be complete without my house per se… I’ve lived several places, and each is home in a different way. “Home” is my safe place, my down time place, my haven… and the BOC are part of that… maybe its a Reenie-and-the-Bitches-and-the-Nichols-Homestead sort of unit, I don’t know… that might be too deep for me to figure out right now ๐Ÿ™‚

Anyway, back to my post… so, I love that book and if I had it here on my lap I’d be tempted to type up whole sections that i love… the ladybug episode… her realization of her inner princess… the mums for the wedding… read it and let me know how you like it ๐Ÿ™‚

2 thoughts on “50 acres and a poodle

  1. Excellent. I’m close to the end of my current read and I’m looking for another. Nothing too serious, so 50 Acres and a Poodle should be perfect. I’ll let you know what I think. Have you read “The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night”?

Leave a Reply

