In everything give thanks…

At times I struggle feeling like when someone asks, “So, what’s new with you?” I really have nothing to say. I don’t have kids to brag about (although I brag about my nieces, nephews, and friend’s kids anyway), I am working the same job I have for years (and try to not bore people with the details), I am doing LT for going on 10 years – nothing that new about it, live in the same house, have a lot of the same friends who are mostly busy dealing with their own lives… yeah, the answer “not much” is kind of depressing when it sometimes seems like everyone else has so much going on. For a change, today I just want to acknowledge how incredibly grateful I am to be able to say, “not much” is new in my life.

In the past week, I have been a friend and support for several people who have a lot going on in their lives, lots of drama (the real life kind of drama). I am honored beyond words to be someone they can call when they need a shoulder to cry on, or a sympathetic ear, or a pan of brownies, or whatever. Nonetheless, it hit me today that I am profoundly grateful to God that He’s asked me to be a support during their drama, and that at this moment, my life has very little of my own drama in it.

So, although I know that my turn for drama will come- it always does- for today, I am very grateful for my boring life. (Just to clarify, by “boring” I don’t mean there’s nothing going on- rather, there’s a lot going on, but its of the normal mundane variety- housework, work work, de-icing the porch, Christmas shopping and preparation, Life Teen, etc).

For all of you experiencing drama, I am praying for you!! And don’t forget these dramatic times so that during the slow times so you can be evermore grateful for those boring, mundane days.

3 thoughts on “In everything give thanks…

  1. Thanks for writing this! I really struggle with the question “What are you doing these days?” because I don’t work outside the home and I’m not a ‘project’ kind of person with a million ministries and activities…my life is filled up with the everyday, and who really wants or needs to hear the ups and downs of potty training and grocery budgets? Thanks for the reminder that having a ‘boring’ life is pretty good after all!

  2. I guess its all about perspective- work outside the home and do ministry and too many other things, but thats all part of the “every day” boring stuff for me that i don’t want to bore people with the details of. nonetheless, i am loving the boring right now!

Leave a Reply

