Its a love without end, amen.

I have to admit, i’ve been flirting with the dark side lately- listening to country music. Not usually a country music fan, I was getting tired of the angsty stuff on the rock / pop stations so I started to listen occasionally… anyway, this song gets stuck in my head… check out the chorus…

Love without end amen (George Strait)

I got sent home from school one day with a shiner on my eye
Fightin’ was against the rules and it didn’t matter why
When dad got home I told that story just like Id rehearsed
Then stood there on those tremblin’ knees and waitin’ for the worst

And he said…

Chorus:
Let me tell you a secret about a fathers love
A secret that my daddy said was just between us
He said daddies don’t just love their children every now and then
It’s a love without end, amen
It’s a love without end, amen

When I became a father in the spring of 81
There was no doubt that stubborn boy was just like my fathers son
And when I thought my patience had been tested to the end
I took my daddy’s secret and passed it on to him

I said… Let me tell you a secret about a fathers love
A secret that my daddy said was just between us
He said daddies don’t just love their children every now and then
It’s a love without end, amen. It’s a love without end, amen

Last night I dreamed I’d died and stood outside those pearly gates
When suddenly I realized there must be some mistake
If they know half the things I’ve done, they’ll never let me in
Then somewhere from the other side, I heard these words again

And they said… Let me tell you a secret about a fathers love
A secret that my daddy said was just between us
He said daddies don’t just love their children every now and then
It’s a love without end, amen. It’s a love without end, amen

Its amazing to me the little ways that God shows and reminds me of His love for me. When I went to Ireland (an amazing trip), the chorus of this song would replay over and over in my head. In fact, I felt the entire trip was just a gift from God to me, a way to show me His love. Not because I deserve it, or needed it, or earned it, but simply because He is a Father who loves His children- Me!

I’d drive through the mountains, marveling at the beauty of His handiwork “Let me tell you a secret about a fathers love.” Finding my irish relatives and getting to spend time with them “its a love without end, amen.” Coming home to my own bed, my mutts, my blessed life here “Daddies don’t just love their children every now and then…” Seeing a rainbow in the midst of a storm “its a love without end, amen.” Hearing a niece who doesn’t talk much says “Reen” for the first time… a quiet evening walk to watch the sunset… the gift of daily Mass and Eucharist… “its a love without end, amen.”

I guess its been a theme in my life for the past couple months. A few months ago (okay, more like last November) I read the book “Captivating” by Stasi Elderidge. I remember her saying that God gives us beauty around us as a reminder of His love, that beautiful sunset that He made just so you could get a glimpse of His love. That has been hitting me a lot lately. I wouldn’t say life is any better or worse than usual- but I’ve been seeing those little things, the simple every day reminders of the Father’s love for me. And looking for those things and finding them can brighten even the hardest days and seasons.

Leave a Reply

