Holy Week

Good morning friends, Happy Holy Week! I am seriously like a kid waiting for Santa on Christmas when it comes to Holy Week, its definitely my favorite week of the year! What a blessed and rich time. Holy week is one of those times i am incredibly grateful to the Catholic- what richness and depth we have, especially during this season. Wow. All week the readings at daily Mass have been leading us up to the Triduum… today the Gospel (http://www.usccb.org/nab/040407.shtml) was about Judas betraying Jesus. Somehow it really hits home. Sure, most of the time i like to think that I live a faithful life, try to avoid serious sin, etc., and yet, when it comes down to it, that could have been me. How often do I let pride or greed or selfishness get in the way of what God is doing?

In yesterday’s Gospel (http://www.usccb.org/nab/040307.shtml), Peter, the first pope, a man that walked with Jesus also betrayed the Lord, though not in the same way as Judas, just as real. After Judas leaves the upper room to betray Jesus, Jesus is telling His apostles that He will be leaving soon.

Simon Peter said to him, “Master, where are you going?”
Jesus answered him,“Where I am going, you cannot follow me now,though you will follow later.”
Peter said to him,“Master, why can I not follow you now? I will lay down my life for you.”
Jesus answered, “Will you lay down your life for me?Amen, amen, I say to you, the cock will not crow before you deny me three times.”

How often I have said to Jesus, “Take my life, Lord. I will follow you, lay down my life for you, live for you.” And yet, like Peter, when the rubber hits the road, how often have I also denied even knowing Him by my words or actions or inactions? Lord, continue to reveal yourself to me in this holy season, convicting me of my sin so that i may truly rejoice in your saving death and resurrection!

As usual, I am working with the teens to put on the living Stations of the Cross for the parish on Good Friday. St Alphonsus Ligori’s Stations are so deep and moving… and this line always strikes a chord in my heart: “I love You, beloved Jesus; I love You more than I love myself. With all my heart I repent of ever having offended You. Grant that I may love You always; and then do with me as You will.” Lord, may we love you more than ourselves in all things, big and small. May we enter more deeply into your heart during this Triduum, so that by meditating on your passion and death, we may come to know the true joy of the Resurrection!

Happy Holy Week my friends. May you be blessed abundantly in these holiest of days!!

Leave a Reply

