East or west, home is best!

Hello friends. I am back from a long weekend in florida visiting a good friend of mine and her family. its a little wierd at times since Michele and i lived together for over 3 years… and now she’s married with 2 kids and living in FL… and really life hasn’t changed that much for me… same job, still doing Life Teen, okay a lot has changed in those years but no significant life changes like she’s had. And yet, she is one of my very good friends and it was soooo good to just catch up and be together for a few days. Its always so interesting to look back at life and where we were when we met and became such good friends, the years of living together, and to see how much has changed, both internally and externally. And its a reminder to be thankful for God’s gift of amazing friends that He continues to bless me with!! Reminds me of an old Micheal W Smith song…

“Packing up the dreams God planted
In the fertile soil of you
Can’t believe the hopes he’s granted
Means a chapter in your life is through
But we’ll keep you close as always
It won’t even seem you’ve gone
‘Cause our hearts in big and small ways
Will keep the love that keeps us strong

And friends are friends forever
If the Lord’s the Lord of them
And a friend will not say “Never”
‘Cause the welcome will not end
Though it’s hard to let you go
In the Father’s hands we know
That a lifetime’s not too long
To live as friends

With the faith and love God’s given
Springing from the hope we know
We will pray the joy you’ll live in
Is the strength that now you show
But we’ll keep you close as always
It won’t even seem you’ve gone
‘Cause our hearts in big and small ways
Will keep the love that keeps us strong

And friends are friends forever
If the Lord’s the Lord of them
And a friend will not say “Never”
‘Cause the welcome will not end
Though it’s hard to let you go
In the Father’s hands we know
That a lifetime’s not too long
To live as friends

Michele’s oldest, Jonathan, is 3 now and wants to do everything himself… he’s a fun kid but definitely a mommy’s boy and didn’t want reenie too involved since he has to either do it himself or have mom do it. Its so fun to see how much he’s grown in the last few months and how independent he is getting. I was more worried about Jenna warming up to me. She is 18 months old and has only seen me a few times in her short life. She is pretty shy with strangers, but by the end of the visit we were fast friends and she even said my name (awwww). She’s a cutie with a great smile and a fun personality! The weather in FL was certainly a nice break from Michigan. It was hot and sunny… Thurs and Friday were very hot and humid, but Sat and Sunday cooled off a bit with a nice breeze and a comfortable 80-ish degrees. Absolutely beautiful! Saturday afternoon Mitch and I headed for the Fort Myers beaches, and walked a long way, just talking and catching up and enjoying some time without the kids… we had a nice dinner while watching the sunset over the water (or behind the clouds really) and then headed back toward the car. It was a great day!

Work is busy busy, especially having to catch up on stuff from 3 days off, but its good to be busy. Cora’s on maternity leave, so i’m trying to wrap up a bunch of her projects too, which just means lots of extra phone calls, coordination stuff. My garden is done for the season… right now it looks pretty pathetic with lots of drooping plants, falling over stakes, and overall has a very dismal look… guess that means i’ve got plenty to do the next non-rainy weekend. The 1/2 bushel of green tomatoes in the dining room are ripening a few at a time but are a rather comical site sitting there, this huge thing of green tomatoes. So, if you need any tomatoes, just let me know, i’ve got enough to go around…

So, my visit in FL was terrific and it is, as always, wonderful to come home. Home truly is the greatest place around (for me anyway)… I sit on the plane thinking about the various things I need to do, the projects I’d like to do, sleeping in my own bed, playing with the mutts, back in my own place… I love that! I get all excited to see those crazy mutts, who I’m sure will be waiting for me to come home and of course act like they haven’t seen me in months, when its really only been a few days. I really just love home!! Whenever I’m anticipating coming home from somewhere, it always reminds me how much I am going to love heaven… I mean if I love coming home to my little house, imperfect as it is, how much greater is it going to be when we actually get to go Home?!?! “… now we see dimly as in a mirror, then face to face…” Wow!!

Well, thats enough from me… have a great week!

Leave a Reply

